The Sex Pistols

The Sex Pistols – Brief Biography

The Sex Pistols were formed in 1975 in London by singer Johnny Rotten, lead guitar player Steve Jones, drummer Paul Cook and bass player Glen Matlock. Glen Matlock was replaced by Sid Vicious in early 1977. The band were popularly credited with pioneering something called the punk movement and their brand of music became known as punk rock. Most if not all of these so called punk rock contained highly contreversial lyrics and thus were very appealing to the younger and rebellious generation of that time.

Having achieved popularity in a very short span of time, The Sex Pistols did not last very long either. Regretably, the band officially broke up just after 3 years in January 1978 when Johnny Rotten left the band largely due to differences that accurred during a tour in the United States.

Even though the band was officially no more, the Sex Pistols still perfomanced with the 3 remaining members. Sadly, in February 1979, Vicious, the member who replaced Matlock died of a heroin overdose and The Sex Pistols became quite inactive after that.

15 years later in 1996, Rotten, Jones, Cook and Matlock reunited for the Filthy Lucre Tour. Despite being out of the scene for so long, their poplarity did not seemed to have waned any. There were many reunions after that and they were even inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on 24 February 2006. However, being the rebels that they were, they refused to attend the ceremony.


Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame
Sex Pistols Official Website